Ok, so I got a bit lazy there for a while – I was busy spending a lot of time working on my weekly eating plan because my naturopath (or homeopath) put me on a “hypoallergenic” or “elimination” diet to help reset my liver and see if my body was reacting badly to some foods without me knowing. She suggested I try it out for 4 weeks… I did it fully for 2, reintegrating some foods back in after 10 days (tomatoes, peppers and eggs). Of course, I brought Salem along for the ride (poor guy). For me, it wasn’t too bad simply because I am not too dependent on bread to begin with, but this part was hard for the man. Needless to say, I spent a lot of time looking up gluten-free, wheat-free, XYZ-free recipes.
I will be posting some of the recipes I found (and modified) over the next little while.
On to today’s lunch!

Lunch, served on my lap! It tasted great though.


Chili-lime marinated, baked chicken
Avocado and tomato
Zucchini “pasta”

Yes, I took the picture with all my 3 pieces of tupperware on my lap! I went to the warehouse and had lunch with my friends.

Zucchini “pasta”
I actually came across this recipe while watching a raw-vegan recipe video on YouTube. It’s simple and I LOVE it (along with Salem and his mother).
Ingredients
-1 zucchini per person if serving as a side-dish – try to get a “fatter” one as you will not be using the “core”
-Cherry tomatoes (or regular tomatoes), cut into bite-sized pieces
-Sea salt
-Garlic powder
-Chopped onion
-Basil, chiffon-ed
-Olive oil

Putting it together:
1. Get out your vegetable peeler, and peel your zucchinis until you get to the core – don’t add in the seeds as the noodles won’t have the right texture. You can chop the core into smaller pieces and add it back into the dish or use in another recipe.
2. Add in all other ingredients to your taste, mix and serve. You can leave this in the fridge overnight without any problem. Also, feel free to add other ingredients – olives, peppers, oregano, etc.

Chili-lime chicken
Yield = 4 servings
Ingredients
-2 full chicken breasts
-2 limes, juiced and zested
-1 Tbspn lemon-juice
-1.5 tspn chili powder
-1/2 tspn cumin
-salt and pepper
-olive oil

Putting it together:
1.Mix all ingredients but the chicken breast.
2.Once mixed, add in the chicken breast and marinade for a few hours, up to 24 hours. Turn over after a few hours.
3. Discard marinade and bake chicken breasts on oiled cookie sheet at 350 until chicken is no longer pink inside and juices run clear (each oven is different so I won’t be including cooking time). You can also grill the chicken.