Quite a ways back, I mentioned to my sister-in-law that I was getting ready to sprout some seeds. I guess she had never heard of this so she asked me how it worked. I said I would do a post about how it’s done. I’m finally getting to it now! Woops!

Step 1: Get some seeds, a glass jar and a small sieve or special lid with a fine mesh
You can get yourself just about kind of seed/bean. So far, I have tried out lentils, mung beans, alfalfa seeds, broccoli seeds, red clover, fennel and fenugreek. I highly suggest you go to a natural food store and buy organic beans/seeds. Some of the stuff you find in the grocery store has been genetically modified and may not sprout at all. I’ve found this brand, Mumm’s, at a store (and you can order online as well).
I just took out a large glass jar I had (probably used to be either peanut butter or almond butter from Costco). For the lid, I used a fine-mesh sieve for a few weeks and then spent $5 and bought the special lid to make things easier.

Step 2: Prep your seeds/beans
Measure out the amount of seeds/beans you want to sprout. I usually mix 2-3 kinds together. Sprouting time will differ from one seed to another, larger ones usually taking longer, the same rule applies to tougher “skinned” seeds. Also make sure not to overcrowd your jar – it is better to sprout too little at first than too much. Overcrowding traps in too much moisture making it a great place for mold and spoilage. I usually put 2 handfulls (like in the picture below) for my jar. Rinse your beans/seeds.

Step 3: Soak your seeds/beans
Place your beans/seeds in your jar, add luke-warm water and soak. I soak smaller seeds overnight for about 6-8 hours, larger/tougher skinned seeds closer to 8-10 hours. Please, when using water, do not put HOT water – it may scorch your seeds!

Step 4: Draining and sprouting
Once they have soaked, drain the water, add in warm water (to cover the seeds), swoosh the water around, drain again and lay the jar at an angle (you can put this in a Tupperware container – see picture). Keep this at room temperature – if it’s cold, place closer to a sunny (indirect sun) window or to a heater. I like to place mine on our table during the winter. Every 10-12 hours, grab your jar, swoosh with warm water, drain the water and put it back to continue sprouting. I tend to do this morning and evening. After a few days, your seeds should have sprouted! Smaller seeds are usually ready in 3-4 days, larger ones closer to 5 days. All you have to do is take your seeds and throw them into a Tupperware container in the fridge. I love adding these to salads and sandwiches.

Now, if you don’t mind, I just found out that I can sprout quinoa… I’m off to start up another jar!