On Friday, March 23rd, my sister (in-law, but I still consider her my sister) gave birth to her and her husband’s first child – baby Yusuf. The birth went pretty well, no complications and mommy and baby both went home the following evening.

I’m sharing a few of my favorite pictures here. A note to my sister and brother: While I have many pictures of the baby, I wouldn’t mind a few pictures of both parents with the baby… *hint hint hint* LOL!


Just a few days old… He’s still a bit pink!


I actually find it funny that he looks much older in this picture. Je ne sais pas pourquoi, mais il me fait penser à un petit poussin!


One of the famous “floating baby” pictures (there are plenty of these). But I particularly love this one due to the knitted disco baby booties! Check out the pompoms!!!


I had to insert this picture of baby Yusuf with his grand-mother (Salem and Lama’s mother). Can you tell just how smitten she is with her first grand-child?


Sporting Tante-Caro wear. I really like the contrasts in this picture.


I love the different angle in this picture.

It’s funny to see just how “gushy” Salem is when it comes to this whole thing. Meanwhile, I think the fact that I am an aunt hasn’t really sunk in yet. Is it simply because I have yet to see see my nephew in person? I am getting loads of pictures, FaceTiming and a few videos but… I still feel a bit… I don’t know, it’s just like my mind can’t make the full connection just yet. Hello, you’re an aunt! This is your nephew! Perhaps also because I am a bit stand-offish/terrified of kids in general. I can only remember a handful of kids I’ve ever felt comfortable around so perhaps that is also sticking around in the back of my mind… “What if I go there and he just doesn’t like me?” It may seem like a silly thing to think, but I am so uneasy around kids – I never know what to do with them and I can’t help but think that kids have some instant dislike of me…

Here’s a typical situation: I sit down next to a someone’s kid (10 months and older), I look at the child out of the corner of my eye. Internal dialogue: “Don’t look at them directly, you might make them feel uncomfortable – they don’t know you.” I slowly (and stiffly) turn to them, they look at me, barely moving a muscle, halfway to the “dear in the headlights” already. “Ok, just give them a smile, let them know you’re nice… OMG! Not that big a smile! What are you? The Cheshire cat? You’ll make them have nightmares!” I give a sheepish smile and quickly turn my attention elsewhere, feeling so uncomfortable “They hate me already! Crap!”.

Babies I can handle a bit more but I swear they can feel how worried I am that they will start crying. I know, I know, crying = they need something and it has nothing to do with me. But when a baby I am holding starts crying, I start hearing those blaring submarine alarms “abandon ship! abandon ship! crying baby!” and then I start scrambling frantically, baby held out as far as I can, trying to find a parent in order to hand off the baby.

So I guess, in a sense, this is some kind of confession to everyone who encounters me and introduces me to their kids – Please, don’t be offended if I seem a bit distant/nervous/not all gushy and smiles with your kids – it’s certainly not them, it’s 100% me (ahahaha, yes it seems the “it’s not you, it’s me” bit can apply to kids as well). Just give me time to get over my urge for “flight”. And if your kid can talk, please bring up topics of conversation here and there that they can participate in so I can get to know what I can talk to them about… I have a hard enough time figuring out what people my age talk about, your child is even more of a total mystery to me. Oh, and people with babies – I will almost never work up the courage to ask if I can hold your baby. If you want me to hold them, please ask me and I will almost always accept. I never ask for 2 reasons: 1 – my fear that the kid won’t like me and 2 – perhaps the parent doesn’t trust me with their kid… don’t ask, again it makes no sense, it’s just the way my brain works.

After all this blabbing, I just wanted to post about our nephew. Masha’Allah to mommy and daddy, you have a beautiful child. Insha’Allah, you will get to experience one of the most beautiful and rewarding things that Allah has to offer us during our short time on this earth. And when you get bored or tired, ship over the baby to us… If he likes me…