So here we are for another installment of my lunch series.

Just to clear things up a bit – if there’s a day or so that I don’t post a lunch, it doesn’t mean that I didn’t have lunch. It simply means I probably had the same thing I did on another day. Sorry guys, I’m not interested in repeating myself as far as recipes go. I’m sure you won’t mind too much.

Today’s lunch was lighter considering that we had sushi post-workout yesterday.

I had what is basically a cross between an omelet and a scramble… A scramelet? And I had a salad on the side.

Everything but the kitchen sink “scramelet”
Ingredients
-Olive oil
-1 small onion, chopped
-1 leek, chopped
-1 pepper, chopped (I like to use red to give it more colour)
-1.5-2 cups chopped broccoli
-1 egg
-1/2 cup egg whites (approximately, adjust to your liking)
-Cumin
-Paprika
-Salt and pepper (to taste)
-2-3 oz feta cheese, crumbled
-2-3 Tbspn toasted pine nuts (I sub it out with either sunflower or pumpkin seeds)

Putting it together
1-Heat up a large pan with olive oil. Once heated, throw in the onions and stir from time to time until translucent.
2-Add in leek and pepper and fry until al-dente. Add in broccoli and keep cooking until done to your desire (I like it still crispy, others prefer it softer).
3- Stir in eggs and egg whites. Cook through, stirring. Add in cumin, paprika, salt and pepper and any other herb or spices you might like (chives could be lovely).
4- Serving: Crumble some feta on top and add in toasted pine nuts (or seeds).

Yield: 2 servings

Here’s a picture of my salad:

It doesn’t really deserve a recipe as it was very simple:
Mixed salad, sprouts (I sprouted them myself), red peppers, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper. Topped with a mixture of sunflower and pumpkin seeds for added crunch.
I made a similar salad for Salem (which he raved about): Mixed salad, sprouts (I sprouted them myself), red peppers, feta cheese, olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Topped with a mixture of sunflower and pumpkin seeds for added crunch.

On the menu for tonight: fish! AGAIN! I accidentally defrosted fish, thinking it was chicken. Oh well! Recipe to come tomorrow? We’ll see.