I had planned on making this dish last week but something had happened to the kafta (it went bad, I’m guessing this happened when we switched fridges) and then Salem got sick so the recipe had to wait until this week.

It’s a Lebanese-style dish that my husband introduced me to. Of course, I’ve been making it here and there since. It’s simple, takes just a bit of time and leftovers reheat really well.

I like serving this alongside rice (like you’ll see in this picture) or throwing it while still hot into a baguette with some cheese. Mmmmm….

Kafta meatballs in a tomato sauce
Ingredients
-1/2 kilo of kafta (this is basically a mixture of ground beef, parsley, onions and other herbs – you can find it at Middle Eastern grocery stores).
-1 large can of diced tomatoes
-1-2 Tbspn pomegranate syrup (dabisrammen)

Putting it together:
1- Roll the kafta into small meatballs (about 1″ diameter at maximum). Heat skillet on med-high heat, throw in meatballs and cook until browned.
2- Add in the can of tomatoes, lower the heat and simmer for about 30 minutes.
3- Before serving, stir in the pomegranate syrup.
4- Enjoy!

**Note: Pomegranate syrup can be found at Middle Eastern stores too but what you find isn’t always all that great. If you can get a friend to bring it back for you, then that’s great. I’ll eventually be posting my homemade version which I tried out a few years ago and turned out pretty decently.

