Supper last night was simple and made mostly of things I had prepped earlier in the week.
Here’s what we had:

20111118-102807.jpg

I had prepped the salad and couscous earlier in the week. All I had to do was top the tilapia and throw it in the oven for 15-20 minutes. Done!

Pesto Tilapia:
-4 pieces of tilapia
-1/4 to 1/3 cup of basil pesto
-1/4 cup of low-fat mayo (you could sub out yogurt or simply bypass this ingredient entirely)
Simply mix, spread onto the fish and bake at 400 Fahrenheit for about 15-20 minutes.
**Bonus note: try adding in some plumped, chopped sundried tomatoes to switch it up a bit. Yum, yum!

Vegetable couscous:
-2 medium carrots, chopped
-olive oil
-1 onion, chopped
-2 cloves of garlic, minced
-1 zucchini, diced
-2 cups of couscous
-2 3/4 cups of broth (chicken or vegetable) or water
-1-2 handfuls of raisins
-1/2 tspn cinnamon
Boil or steam carrots in a pot to soften a bit. Drain and set aside. Rinse pot and, on medium heat, add oil and onions. When onions start to brown, add garlic and stir for about a minute. Add zucchini and stir. Let cook for another minute or two before stirring in the carrots. Add broth and bring to a simmer for about 2-3 minutes. Stir in couscous, raisins and cinnamon. Cover and remove from heat.
The couscous should be done cooking in about 5 minutes. I let it sit there until the rest of the meal is ready, it stays warm as the lid is still on the pot.

As for the kale and poppy seed crusted butternut squash salad, I got the recipe from this awesome blog I discovered late last week: My New Roots. I highly recommend this blog, especially for those of us trying to eat more seasonal foods – root veggies are winter’s best veggies!  ** On a little side note – I followed the recipe exactly but I didn’t have any maple syrup so I subbed it for some honey – it was still amazing!).