It’s been a few weeks since my last post. “But why??” Well, Salem’s mother and sister left for Calgary on August first, we had some major unpacking to do after that (we were down to 3 boxes and had almost a room full of stuff just piled on)… Needless to say, I was completely depressed and demotivated when our nearly fully unpacked guest room was once again crammed with stuff! I had to fight the urge to just throw everything right out the window, watching it as it tumbled to the alley below, making falling noises like those I so fondly remember from the Wyle E. Coyote cartoons I used to watch as a kid. On that note – Am I the only one who ever wished he would catch the darn Road Runner? Just once!!!!

Anyway, as of the 11th of August, we’ve been fasting and doubly renewing our dedication to Allah for the holy month of Ramadan. As a wife, I’ve also taken on the happy yet very time consuming (and sometimes stressful) job of cooking balanced meals for the husband and myself. I really do enjoy cooking but I think perhaps I’m still too much of a perfectionist, trying to constantly come up with new recipes, large meals that will satisfy Salem’s tummy yet still remain nutritious. I constantly am reminding myself that this meal is our only real meal of the day (plus 2 small snacks a few hours later).

But worry not! I have been trying out new recipes, making old recipes and taking pictures! As soon as I can, I will be posting a slew of things so get ready and rest up your eyes while you can.

So what’s a typical evening like for me? Here’s an idea:

6:00-6:45 – I arrive home, do my prayers and feed the cat
6:45-7:45 – Prep dinner (usually a soup or fatteh with a salad as a starter then a main course with meat, veggies and starches).
7:45-8:30 – Break our fast, do our prayers and eat!
8:30-9:00 – do the dishes (this is a joint venture)
9:00-9:30 – sit for a few minutes and relax
9:30-10:30 – do our prayers for the night, then go on a walk to get our blood moving and some much needed fresh air
10:30-11:30 – veg out and have a snack/dessert then go to bed

Thankfully, weekends are a lot more fun as we stay up until (on average) 3-4 am. At this point, I would like to thank the Dollar Cinema for cheap admission and snack as well as late-night showings! I would also like to thank Dad’s Bagels on Sherbrooke Ouest for providing us with our pre-dawn meal of fresh out of the oven bagels! OMG! Alhamdulillah!!!!!!!

Ok, enough mindless banter on my part, I will post pictures and recipes within the next week or so (insha’Allah).