So last night I started brainstorming about a possible breakfast experiment I would try out this morning. If you have all the ingredients ready, it really doesn’t take long to make. If nothing is ready, add 5-10 minutes to your prep time depending on how quickly you wash, chop, measure and mix things.
My first try at the “quick weekday morning” version of the dish was pretty good. I have taken a few mental notes for next time – which will be the “weekend” version of it. I’ll list my changes at the end of this rough recipe. I’ll post pictures next time too as I made more of a scramble this time, not so much an omelet.
High protein breakfast omelet with chicken
– 2-3green scallions, chopped
– ½ tomato, chopped
– 4 oz cooked chicken breast, shredded
– 1 large egg
– 1 cup egg whites
– 1 oz cheddar cheese, shredded
– cumin (to your taste)
– chili powder (to your taste)
– onion powder (to your taste)
– paprika (to your taste)
– salt (to your taste)
– pepper (to your taste)
Step 1: Spray non-stick pan with a bit of PAM and heat it on medium heat. When ready, add scallions and cook for 1 minute, stirring occasionally so they don’t burn. Add tomatoes and cook for another minute. Add chicken breast and stir, warming it just a bit.
Step 2: While waiting for items in step 1 to cook, whisk together egg, egg whites, cheese and herbs/spices.
Step 3: When chicken has been heated through, add the egg and cheese mix. If you are looking for a scramble-style dish, start stirring the whole with a spatula. Cook until done.
Now, what would I change? I will be using a whole tomato next time, putting in 2 oz of cheese and adding a bit of chili sauce on top. Also, if you have the time, simply pour in the egg and cheese mixture, heat on the stove top a few minutes and then finish cooking the omelet by placing it in the stove to “bake”. My weekend version will be made like this. I’ll make sure to take a picture of that when I get around to making it.